Knauer / Schumacher / ZKO

Record Details

Concert for Piano, Vibraphone and Orchestra

Five concertos on themes of  Johann Sebastian Bach
for piano, vibraphone and string orchestra

The project centres on the idea of creating a form of music in which one hears Bach without Bach being heard. Arash Safaian develops the music ideas already contained in the compositions of Bach and interprets them anew:
“For me, Bach’s works are music in its purest form. They require no deconstruction, no historical classification. What I always think is that I am hearing the grammar of music. That is why I have decided to compose music about Bach’s music. That makes it like a view into a landscape that your own eye interprets in a certain way.”

Sebasatian Knauer                              Piano
Pascal Schumacher                             Vibraphone
Zürcher Kammerorchester

Neue Meister / Berlin Classics

Awarded with the ECHO:KLASSIK 2017